Nicola Benedetti’s World Premiere at Perth Concert Hall

September 26, 2022 by Catriona Anderson

Nicola Benedetti’s World Premiere at Perth Concert Hall

Superstar Scottish violinist Nicola Benedetti will give the world premiere of a new violin concerto by Scotland’s foremost composer, Sir James MacMillan at the launch of Perth Concert Series in Perth Concert Hall on Wednesday 28 September.

Playing with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra under the baton of Maxim Emelyanychev, Nicola will debut James MacMillan’s Violin Concerto No 2 as part of a programme that also features Tchaikovsky’s emotional Pathétique Symphony and the witty The Chairman Dances by US composer John Adams.

The new work comes about through the long musical relationship between Sir James and Nicola and has been specially created to showcase her renowned technical agility and exquisite poetry.

Nicola Benedetti is familiar to Perth audiences, having performed at the venue many times and recently bringing her inspirational Benedetti Sessions workshops for school age string players and teachers to the venue.

James Waters, Creative Director for Classical Music at Perth Concert Hall said:

“Nicola Benedetti has a long-standing relationship with Perth Concert Hall and our audiences. Her many hugely successful visits have included performances in recital, chamber music and concerto as well as some of her unforgettably inspiring work with young people. To host her in a world premiere of a new concerto written for her by Scotland’s world-leading composer Sir James MacMillan is an honour for our wonderful concert hall.”

Scottish Chamber Orchestra Benedetti & Emelyanychev takes place in Perth Concert Hall at 7.30pm on Wednesday 28 September. It is the opening concert in the exclusive Perth Concert Series which is the only platform to showcase all three of Scotland’s major orchestras – Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Royal Scottish National Orchestra and BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. The series continues on Friday 28 October with a performance of Chopin’s charming and captivating Piano Concerto No 1 played by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and pianist Zlata Chochieva. Royal Scottish National Orchestra is joined by the young musicians of Big Noise Raploch and cellist Bruno Delepelaire for their concert on Thursday 8 December featuring Beethoven’s Eroica Symphony. The series continues into the new year with performances in January and March, plus two bonus concerts featuring violinists Maxim Vengerov and Jennifer Pike with international orchestras.

For further information and tickets for Perth Concert Series,

Horsecross Arts is supported by Creative Scotland, Perth & Kinross Council and The Gannochy Trust

Steps to completing enquiry

Selected venues ()


Event information


Contact details

Complete your enquiry